Complete Live At The Blue Coronet 1969

DiscoComplete Live At The Blue Coronet 1969
VenueUSA, Blue Coronet Club, Brooklyn, NY
NotesSource: AvaxHome.RU

Miles Davis Quintet - Complete Live At The Blue Coronet 1969 (2010) [2CD] {Domino Records}
© 2010 Domino Records | 891207

“ 2010 two CD set containing all surviving music from a never before heard performance by the 1969 Miles Davis Quintet, with Wayne Shorter, Chick Corea, Dave Holland and Jack DeJohnette. It was taped at the Blue Coronet Club in New York in June of that year, before the group embarked on a European tour. Miles remembered this group in his autobiography as really a bad motherfucker. These recordings are welcome considering that this exact formation of the quintet never made a studio recording. ”

“ Later that same year : “Miles Davis was shot and wounded in the hip by unknown assailants in the early morning of October 9 as he sat in a parked car with a friend in New York’s East Village. The injury was not serious, and Davis was treated at a hospital and released. The trumpeter, who was appearing at the Blue Coronet in Brooklyn, told police that he had been warned, four days prior to the assault, not to appear at the club, located in Bedford-Stuyvesant, unless he paid part of his salary to the unidentified man making the threats. Davis offered a $5,000 reward for information leading to the identification and/or arrest of his assailants. He said he would never again play at the club.” (Down Beat, November 13, 1969)

Recorded at the Blue Coronet Club, Brooklyn, NY, June 21-29, 1969. These historically important recordings come from amateur tapes made by audience members and the sound quality is not up to today’s standards. Every effort has been made to improve it using modern sound technologies. ”

Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Wayne Shorter (tenor and soprano sax); Chick Corea (electric piano); Dave Holland (bass, electric bass); Jack DeJohnette (drums).

01. This
02. Agitation
03. No Blues
04. Paraphernalia #1

01. Gingerbread Boy
02. Paraphernalia #2
03. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
04. Walkin'