Original Album Classics [5CD Box Set]

DiscoOriginal Album Classics [5CD Box Set]
Year1981/85 [2010]
NotesSource: AvaxHome
Miles Davis - Original Album Classics (2010) [5CD Box Set] {Sony Music/Columbia}
Posted By : ruskaval | Date : 22 Jun 2015 01:11:26

Miles Davis - Original Album Classics (2010) [5CD Box Set] {Sony Music/Columbia}
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 1.64 Gb | MP3 @320 -> 671 Mb
Full Artwork @ 300 dpi (jpg) -> 85 Mb | 5% repair rar
© 2010 Columbia / Legacy / Sony Music | 88697766662
Jazz / Fusion / Post Bop / Progressive Jazz / Trumpet

“The Sony/BMG Original Album Classics series brings together 5 CD's of rare and out of print titles with some best sellers from the Sony/BMG Jazz catalog. Many of these albums have been unavailable on CD for some time and are sought after by collectors. Each set is presented in a high quality, rigid cardboard slipcase containing five vinyl replica mini LP sleeves. This 5 CD collection of original releases featuring Miles Davis includes the albums The Man With The Horn, Star People, Decoy, You're Under Arrest, and Aura. A great collection of post sabbatical Miles Davis. I great meld of old school and fusion jazz. The last hurrah before the spotty Warner Brothers years.”

Disc 1 - The Man With The Horn (1981)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 368 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 136 Mb

“Miles Davis' first comeback record finds the trumpeter a bit shaky (he would improve album by album during the next few years) and has a few poppish throwaway tracks; it is doubtful if anyone really remembers the title cut or "Shout." But with Bill Evans on soprano and electric bassist Marcus Miller, the other four selections are more rewarding with Davis forming the nucleus of his new band.”

01. Fat Time 9:53
02. Back Seat Betty 11:15
03. Shout 5:52
04. Aida 8:10
05. The Man With The Horn 6:32
06. Ursula 10:50


Disc 2 - Star People (1983)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 375 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 147 Mb

“On this 1983 release, Miles Davis rediscovers the blues. He really stretches out on "Star People," making dramatic use of silence and placing each note carefully. "Come Get It" is also memorable although "U 'n' I" (which had the potential to catch on) is only heard in a truncated version. In general Davis is in fine form on this set and, although saxophonist Bill Evans is barely heard from (many of his solos were edited out), the contrasting guitars of Mike Stern and John Scofield hold one's interest.”

01. Come Get It 11:03
02. It Gets Better 10:08
03. Speak 8:34
04. Star People 18:47
05. U 'n' I 5:55
06. Star On Cicely 4:31


Disc 3 - Decoy (1984)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 252 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 105 Mb

“This rather streaky set of music features Miles Davis with keyboardist Robert Irving III (who has since slipped into obscurity) and guitarist John Scofield contributing most of the compositions and the other solos. There are some moments of interest (Branford Marsalis is heard on some cuts on soprano), but it is doubtful if anyone will be reviving "Robot 415," "Freaky Deaky," or "Code M.D." anytime soon.”

01. Decoy 8:33
02. Robot 415 0:59
03. Code M.D. 5:56
04. Freaky Deaky 4:30
05. What It Is 4:32
06. That's Right 11:11
07. That's What Happened 3:31


Disc 4 - You're Under Arrest (1985)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 291 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 114 Mb

“Miles Davis's final Columbia recording (other than Aura which was released several years later) includes his straightforward ballad interpretations of Cyndy Lauper's "Time After Time" and the Michael Jackson-associated "Human Nature," two songs he would play in most of his concerts for the remainder of his life. Other tunes (including "You're Under Arrest," "One Phone Call" and "Ms. Morrisine") were quickly discarded. In addition to Davis (who had regained his earlier chops) tenor-saxophonist Bob Berg, guitarist John Scofield and guest John McLaughlin get in a few decent solos on this competent but not overly memorable effort.”

01. One Phone Call / Street Scenes 4:34
02. Human Nature 4:30
03. Intro: MD 1 / Somethings On Your Mind / MD 2 7:17
04. Ms. Morrisine 4:57
A5. Katia Prelude 7:37
06. Katia 3:37
07. Time After Time 3:37
08. You're Under Arrest 6:14
09. Medley: Jean Pierre / You're Under Arrest / Then There We None 3:23


Disc 5 - Aura (1985)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 400 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 168 Mb

“Miles' last recording for the Columbia label before heading for the financial allure of Warner Bros. in the mid-'80s was not released until 1989. This critic's guess is because largely they had no idea what to do with it. Unlike anything else in his catalog, Aura is a ten-part suite composed by Danish flügelhornist Palle Mikkelborg as a tribute. Influenced deeply by serialism and the inspiration of Gil Evans, Mikkelborg composed a theme from ten notes based on the letters of Davis' first and last names. The notes yielded a chord, which led him through the work. Employing a full orchestra and the guitar talents of former Davis collaborator John McLaughlin and famed European bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pederson, Aura's sections are named for the color spectrum, with the addition of white and "electric red." The music is an amalgam of classical impressionism, European new music, jazz, rock, electronic, and other genres. As a tribute and separate orchestral work, it's quite moving and beautiful, full of moody interludes and evocations of nuance, color, texture, and dynamic. With Davis added, soloing in his trademark muted, rounded warmth, the music becomes almost breathtaking. The Gil Evans influence is everywhere apparent in the way strings segue into keyboards and float there until the trumpet or wind section comes for them and brings them home. It's easy to be cynical about a work like this, and call it a pastiche of Miles clichés. Far harder is it to place the entirety of Davis' career in one place and hear it expressed with so much warmth and elegance, because that career was so mercurial. Mikkelborg gave Miles a fine parting gift when he left Columbia, and listeners are so very fortunate for his generosity.”

01. Intro 4:28
02. White 6:07
03. Yellow 6:49
04. Orange 8:37
05. Red 9:57
06. Green 4:25
07. Blue 6:38
08. Electric Red 4:19
09. Indigo 6:01
10. Violet 9:02