Year1951 [2013]
NotesSource: AvaxHome
Original folder name: VA - Conception (1951) [MP3] {2013 Japan Prestige 7000 Chronicle Series}
Miles Davis, Stan Getz, Lee Konitz, Zoot Sims - Conception (1951) {2013 Japan Prestige 7000 Chronicle SHM-CD HR Cutting Series}
Posted By : ruskaval | Date : 11 Nov 2015 03:00:10

Miles Davis, Stan Getz, Lee Konitz, Zoot Sims, Sonny Rollins - Conception +7 (1951) {2013 Japan Prestige 7000 Chronicle SHM-CD HR Cutting Series}
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 239 Mb | MP3 @320 -> 147 Mb
Full Artwork @ 600 dpi (png) -> 263 Mb | 5% repair rar | DSD / HR Cutting Remaster
© 2013 Prestige / Concord / Universal Japan | UCCO-5213 | Mono | PRLP 7013
Jazz / Cool / Bop / Trumpet / Saxophone

“Reissue features the latest digital remastering and the high-fidelity SHM-CD format (compatible with standard CD player) and the latest DSD / HR Cutting remastering. Comes with a description. Features the original LP designs. A unique all-star set recorded in various combinations between 1949 and 1951, Conception is an underappreciated masterpiece of cerebral cool jazz. Although Miles Davis gets top billing, he appears on only half the album and then most often as a sideman with only occasional solos. Saxophonists Lee Konitz, Stan Getz, and Gerry Mulligan are the true stars of the album, with Konitz particularly shining.

His two duets with guitarist Billy Bauer, a relaxed take on Victor Herbert's standard "Indian Summer" and his own "Duet for Saxophone and Guitar," are outstanding examples of cool jazz as the term was originally understood before it came to signify new age-leaning elevator music; Konitz's solos in "Indian Summer" disassemble the melody entirely while remaining accessibly tonal, and Bauer's filigree guitar lines stay clear of the uninspired comping of so many jazz guitarists while never sounding overly busy. Of the full-band pieces, Davis' solo spotlight on George Shearing's "Conception" finds the trumpeter in transition from the still soundscapes of the Birth of the Cool sessions to the more aggressive playing of his Capitol sets, and Stan Getz's two showcases, the originals "Prezervation" and "Intoit," feature the saxophonist in his early role as a committed Lester Young disciple, fronting a solid rhythm trio featuring the underrated pianist Al Haig. An excellent album featuring some outstanding and varied tracks, Conception is well worth seeking out.”

Miles Davis (trumpet)
Stan Getz, Lee Konitz, Gerry Mulligan (saxophone)
Sonny Rollins, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone)
Charlie Kennedy (alto saxophone)
J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding (trombone)
Walter Bishop, Sal Mosca, Al Haig, Tony Aless (piano)
Billy Bauer (guitar)
Tommy Potter, Arnold Fishkin, Gene Ramey, Chubby Jackson (bass)
Art Blakey, Roy Haynes, Max Roach, Stan Levey, Don Lamond (drums)
Chubby Jackson's Orchestra

01 - Lee Konitz - Odjenar
02 - Lee Konitz - Hibeck
03 - Lee Konitz - Yesterdays
04 - Lee Konitz - Ezz-Thetic
05 - Lee Konitz - Indian Summer
06 - Lee Konitz - Duet for Saxophone and Guitar
07 - Miles Davis - Conception
08 - Miles Davis - My Old Flame
09 - Stan Getz - Intoit
10 - Stan Getz - Prezervation
11 - Gerry Mulligan - I May Be Wrong
12 - Gerry Mulligan - So What
13 - Gerry Mulligan - Flying the Coop (bonus track)
14 - Gerry Mulligan - Why Not (bonus track)
15 - Gerry Mulligan - New York (bonus track)
16 - Gerry Mulligan - Leavin' Town (bonus track)
17 - Gerry Mulligan - Hot Dog (bonus track)
18 - Gerry Mulligan - Sax Appeal (bonus track)
19 - Lee Konitz - Yesterdays (alternate take) (bonus track)